Heisman finalists: Tide teammates plus Lawrence and Trask


Alabama teammates Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith together with Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence and Florida’s Kyle Trask have been named finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

The Heisman might be awarded Jan. 5 throughout a digital ceremony. The coronavirus pandemic compelled the cancellation of the standard journey to New York for the trophy presentation that comes with being a finalist.

Jones and Smith are the eighth set of teammates to be finalists collectively because the custom began in 1982. Smith is attempting to turn out to be the primary huge receiver to win the Heisman since Michigan’s Desmond Howard in 1991.

If it isn’t Smith, who leads the nation in receptions (98) and receiving yards (1,511), the winner might be a quarterback for the thirteenth time within the final 15 years.

Jones leads the nation in effectivity score (202.34), completion proportion (76.5) and yards per move (11.4), with 32 landing passes.

The highest-ranked Crimson Tide will play No. 4 Notre Dame within the School Soccer Playoff semifinals on Jan. 1.

Jones or Smith would turn out to be Alabama’s third Heisman winner. Operating backs Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015) have been the Tide’s first Heisman winners.

Lawrence was the preseason favourite to win the award, however lacking two video games after contracting COVID-19 slowed his marketing campaign. The junior quarterback and presumptive first choice within the subsequent NFL draft didn’t play towards Boston School and at Notre Dame.

He did play in Atlantic Coast Convention championship rematch towards the Combating Irish final weekend and led the Tigers to a blowout victory. On the season, Lawrence has thrown for two,753 yards and 22 touchdowns in 9 video games, serving to Clemson attain the playoff for the third time in his profession.

No. 2 Clemson performs No. 3 Ohio State within the Sugar Bowl semifinals on Jan. 1. Lawrence can be the Tigers’ first Heisman winner.

Trask leads the nation with 43 landing passes and 4,125 yards. The senior is attempting to hitch Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel and Tim Tebow as Heisman-winning quarterback from Florida.

The remainder of the highest 10 was revealed so as, beginning with Alabama working again Najee Harris. The Crimson Tide is the second group to have three gamers within the prime 5 in Heisman voting.

In 1946, Military working again Glenn Davis gained the Heisman, fellow working again Doc Blanchard completed fourth and quarterback Arnold Tucker was fifth.

Iowa State working again Breece Corridor was sixth this yr, adopted by Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields, BYU quarterback Zach Wilson, Notre Dame quarterback Ian Ebook and Florida tight finish Kyle Pitts.

Pitts is the primary tight finish to complete within the prime 10 of the Heisman voting since Notre Dame’s Ken MacAfee was third in 1977.


Observe Ralph D. Russo at https://twitter.com/ralphDrussoAP and hear at https://westwoodonepodcasts.com/pods/ap-top-25-college-football-podcast/


Extra AP school soccer: https://apnews.com/Collegefootball and https://twitter.com/AP_Top25

Supply hyperlink